7 Replies Latest reply on Dec 12, 2017 10:13 AM by LaMont

I210 External Flash Programming with a Tegra X2

LaMont Community Member

This is the 3rd group I've asked for help on this from, so hopefully I can condense the problem without leaving anything out.  I've making a carrier card for a Tegra X2 computer on module (running Linux 4.4.38-tegra aarch64) and using the Intel I210 to get a second Ethernet port.  I've verified that the I210 works with the Tegra using an external Flash chip programmed before putting it on the board with an image copied from an I210 adapter card Flash.  To make it easier to manufacture I'd like to program the Flash in-circuit rather than try to make our pre-programming less hokey and it sounds like like Intel's got a more elegant solution than the one's I'm looking at otherwise.  I've seen the BootUtil and EEUPDATE used to program the Flash and have been trying both.  I'm new to Intel and Linux so its difficult to know what to ask and where I'm missing information.

I tried the EEUPDATE first as I could follow the instructions better but I've found where the two overlap with the iqvlinux.ko module file.  Is one of these better for an application like this? (I'll leave the question as I'm not sure where else to ask it if I need it)  I've found the install file in both and (after logging in to root using sudo -i) used the install file to create a new iqvlinux.ko module file.  I've used modprobe to install the module (both at seperate times to see if one worked better than the other) and it comes up in the lsmod list of installed modules after installing it.  From the user's guides, I get the idea that both BootUtil and EEUPDATE commands, when used without an options, should give me a list of devices rather than say they aren't recognized.  After a reboot the the ipqvlinux.ko module doesn't show up in the lsmod until it's reinstalled.