4 Replies Latest reply on May 20, 2009 5:22 PM by DougB

82541 GBit Controller

Green Belt

I am unable to find a way to send an email to Intel directly, so I will post this one here.

We are using the Intel 82541 Gbit Ethernet controller.  Is it possible to disable the PCI master latency timer in the controller?  I can't seem to find this information in the documentation for the 82541.

• Re: 82541 GBit Controller
          Felix_M BlackBelt

marteenv:

I will get back to you as soon as I can with a specific answer but while I research it, let me give you a source for all the available tech docs on the 82541 in case you don't have them:

http://www.intel.com/design/network/products/lan/docs/82541EI_docs.htm 

Felix

Green Belt

Ok I will wait for a more specific answer.  I have all the relevant 82541 documentation, however being a hardware engineer I find it lacks some important information.

Thanks in advance,

Martin

Felix_M BlackBelt

Hi Martin:

Well I've hooked up with one of Intel's engineers who is researching the answer.  Is it possible that you could share what it is you are trying to do that you believe that disabling the PCI master latency timer will be the answer?   There may be other options and we want to give you the best possible solution.  

Thanks

Felix

Green Belt

I've been part of Intel's Ethernet division for almost 15 years, and this is the first request of this nature I've ever seen.  It's a good one!