4 Replies Latest reply on Feb 2, 2010 1:58 PM by Felix_M

Ramifications of oversized, low density processors

Green Belt

I am a student at the University of Michigan, and I was looking into a theoretical computer design, and I was hoping you might be able to answer some questions regarding to cost, power, and heat concerns for an over-sized but low density processor.

For example, what would the possible processor speed be on a two foot square processor, with only pentium 4 transistor concentration (but current day cooling and materials technology)? would heat be an issue even though the transistors are so sparsely separated?

Also, if this product were already on the market, would it be relatively more or less expensive due to raw material usage, considering the simple architecture? would it be possible to sell it for under 1000 dollars?

What I am looking to research is the possibility of hiding computers in furniture, thereby removing any space limitations and allowing the parts to be made as inexpensively as possible, and yet getting an obscenely powerful computer. For example, the 2 foot processor, if it only had 10\% density per area compared to the pentium 4, would still have about 20 times the space for transistors. (and by my very limited logic, 20 times the processing power). this behemoth, while very underpowered (per size) for commercial use, could perhaps be a very inexpensive way to get cheap and outrageously powerful computers to the consumer.