47 Replies Latest reply on Sep 7, 2015 7:25 AM by Carlos_A

I210-IT operation

HenryT Green Belt

I am design in the I210-IT device and just wondering if I need to program any image to the iNVM internal to the device in order to get the device manger to recognize the device.

I am using windows 7.

• Re: I210-IT operation
          Leon Brown Belt

Hello HenryT,

Welcome to the Intel® Embedded Community.

Here is a reply from someone in our hardware team: The i210 can be used in an EEPROM-less design, but requires a custom driver to program the registers.

Custom drivers are not supported by Intel.

EEPROM files for various configurations of the i210 interfaces can be found online.

Best Regards,

Leon

HenryT Green Belt

Hi AdolfoS,

Thanks for the info provided. I am very new to this chip and don't know what are the right steps to get I210 up running at windows 7.

I checked section 1.5 and it refer to 1.4.3. I don't have external PHY attached to the I210. RJ45 with integrated magnet connected directly to the I210 only with no external serial Flash memory.

I don't know what features do I need. I just want the windows recognize the I210 and be able to access to the internet through I210. that's all I need.

When the document refer to flash-less, it is mean the serial flash memory attached to the I210?

Will it work with the requirement description above without the external serial flash memory?

Thanks

Henry

AdolfoS Brown Belt

Hello HenryT

Could you provide more details regarding the platform that you are using?

Is your i210 Controller soldered on a board, part of a NIC, or it has been purchased independently?

If it is part of the board, was the board designed/manufactured by yourselves or it is from a third party manufacturer?

HenryT Green Belt

Hi AdolfoS,

Thanks again for the help.

The platform is the board that I design in with the I210 network chip. The board design by myself and I am trying to bring up the I210 chip.